Call 01268 699305

Personal Social Health Education

Please click on this link to find the ‘Intent’ for this subject. The ‘Intent’ is our school aim for what we would like the children to be able to do, know and understand.

PSHE Intent

PSHE RSE progression document

8-RSE Curriculum Summary for parents

1-SEAT RSE Policy 20192020

5-RSE links Sci and PSHE

2-RSE Terminology

At Winter Gardens Academy, our PSHE curriculum (Personal, Social, Health and Economic Education) aims to develop skills and attributes such as resilience, self- esteem, risk-management, team working and critical thinking to enable the pupils to become healthy, independent and responsible members of society.

PSHE is embedded throughout our pupils’ experience, at Winter Gardens Academy, to develop their spiritual, moral, social and cultural development. Pupils experience PSHE on a daily basis through our school’s ethos, assemblies and across many areas of the curriculum.

We aim to promote the development of pupils who are aware of their rights and responsibilities within today’s culturally diverse society, by supporting our pupils to take an active role in the life of the school and the wider community. Pupils can get involved in extracurricular activities such as School council, Eco warriors, Play pals, Sports crew, Reading ambassadors and Well-being champions.

Drawing from the PSHE association’s guidance for schools, we have tailored our approaches to support the needs of our pupils, following the PSHE associations’ three core themes:

  1. Health and well-being

  2. Relationships

  3. Living in the wider world

Our personalised curriculum sets out learning opportunities for each key stage, looking deeper into these themes throughout school education. This builds on the skills that our pupils have learnt in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to develop effective relationships, assume greater personal responsibility and manage personal safety, including online.

Consequently, the core themes specifically focus on nine key aspects stated below:

  1. Rights and responsibilities

  2. Healthy life styles

  3. Feelings and emotions

  4. Valuing difference

  5. Keeping safe

  6. The environment

  7. Money

  8. Healthy relationships

  9. Growing and changing